The Hitchcock List

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while then you know that things have been looking a bit different around here this past week.  Some of the changes are immediately obvious – the most obvious, of course, being the change in the layout theme.  While I liked the cheery green background of the last one, I found the small, grey text (which apparently was an unchangeable aspect of the theme) difficult to read.  In fact, there are a number of aspects of this theme that I like more than the last.  I like that the  blog title is separate from the header image (I kept having a hard time finding a text color that contrasted consistently with my images) and I like the soft grey bubbles that creates some distinction in the sidebar items.

Some of the other changes are not so apparent so I thought I’d take a moment to point them out.  I have a wide and sundry taste in books – as I’ve said before I’ll read everything from Victorian novels to graphic novels and I realize that some readers may only be interested in my posts about one particular genre.  Therefore, I’ve reorganized my posting categories in the “Search by topic” sidebar item (directly under archives), so that readers can view all of my posts concerning a particular genre.

I also really like the top navigation items which appear like file tabs.  Concerning those, I have updated the “About” page and I have added two new pages.  The first is a list of books that I’ve read this year with links to their corresponding reviews.  I’ve also added a page called,

“The Hitchcock List”

hitchcock book coverSeveral years ago I started reading a biography about Hitchcock by Patrick McGilligan.  I didn’t read this book sequentially; instead, after I watched one of Hitchcock’s films I would read the corresponding section in the book.  I found myself making note after note of books that inspired his films.  I say “inspired” because Hitchcock took so many liberties with the stories that he based his films on that in some cases they can’t even be rightly called “adaptations.”  Eventually, I compiled them into one long list and I’ve resolved to read each and every one.  This list will track my progress and provide links to my reviews as I complete them.

Well, that about sums up the changes for now.  I’m always open to suggestions so if you have any, please feel free to let me know.

2 thoughts on “The Hitchcock List

  1. I love the new look! Of course, I use the same theme but I also like the way you’ve organized things. And it’s fun to reorganize categories now and then, isnt it?

  2. I love the new look too! Eminently readable! Good choices.

    I totally love that you dig Hitchcock too; the man made some awesome films. Absolute nail-biters. I will be following your trail here, Nicki! Cheers! Chris

Leave a Reply

